Author Stuff · Kate Chaos

Kate Prada Check In

Been kind of laying low lately. Winter is a rough time, am I right? While I had every intention of jumping in feet first with everything I had come the first of the year, I forgot I have bad knees.

I did not stick the landing, shall we say.

While I wanted stronger, and more consistent routines for myself, I not only couldn’t get the groundwork laid, but the little routines and habits I did have in place also began to fall apart. If I pushed hard to build stuff up–they fell apart. If I sat back and tried to go with the flow–things fell apart. Nothing seemed to be the right answer, and when examining all that I have going on in the coming year, (not author related) authoring felt like it was slipping from my fingers.

Was everything falling apart? Or was this life’s way of telling me to chill the fuck out and take a rest?

It all remains to be seen. However, perhaps a few changes do need to be made to get out of this rut.

For the last few weeks I have been wrestling if what I’m doing was a good idea. I’d set goals, and miss them all completely. I’d intend to write, but end up doom scrolling instead. I needed to make a change, but I couldn’t get out of my own way.

So this morning, I got out of the house. After dropping my kid at school, I found a nice quiet corner in my local library busted out the marketing kit I’ve been ignoring for weeks. And while I am not going to force myself to make every post I had worked out for myself over the past year, I’m giving it a shot to keep going.

So far I feel more productive than I have in weeks. I even went as far as to set a few goals for the week. Nothing too crazy, and as with everything when it comes to Kate Prada, they’re fairly flexible. The biggest one being promoting Shadow. I had decided at the end of last year to see how promoting one book per month for a while to see if it makes marketing easier, or more effective. January did alright for Wraith, so I’m interested in continuing on with this method for the foreseeable future. Given that we’re almost 2 weeks into the shortest month of the year, I think I can still salvage this month, but also not stress if I don’t push as hard as I could.

Let’s be real, winter sucks and it takes a lot of us a bit to get going up to our full potential. I know it’ll be March before I can really get the momentum in full swing, but right now I’m all here for baby steps and small changes.

For more Kate Chaos and indie author shenanigans, subscribe to Kate’s blog!

Leave a comment